• Print
  • Bookmark & Share

Women Today - Media Coverage

National Day of Prayer

On April 17, 1952, President Truman signed into law the observance of a National Day of Prayer, and designated it as a floating holiday. In 1981, The National Prayer Committee was established with the purpose of helping to bring about an official National Day of Prayer that would occur on the same day each year. This group was instrumental in the launch of the National Day of Prayer. The Task Force played a central role, in cooperation with the National Prayer Committee, in the eventual joint declaration by President Reagan and Congress, designating the first Thursday of every May as the annual National Day of Prayer. In 1991, Mrs. Shirley Dobson became the Chairman of the NDP Task Force. Vonette Bright, the Task Force’s first Chairman, remains the Co-Chairman. This year’s Prayer for Our National was written by Honorary Chairman Beth Moore. The 2009 theme is, “Prayer…America’s Hope!,” is based on Psalm 33:22, “May your unfailing love rest upon us, O Lord, even as we put our hope in you.”